Record Details

NHER Number:2431
Type of record:Building
Name:St James' Church, Runcton Holme

Summary

Much of the architecture of this church dates to the Norman period, including the tower, chancel arch and the south entrance doorway. Later additions include the 16th century red brick porch. The building was re-roofed and re-pewed in 1845 and it may have been at this point that it gained the large 17th century pulpit. Also of note is the 14th century chancel where the roof corbels take the form of male and female heads.

Images - none

Location

Grid Reference:TF 6172 0948
Map Sheet:TF60NW
Parish:RUNCTON HOLME, WEST NORFOLK, NORFOLK

Full description

Rood screen fragments survived until 1845. Records that inhabitants of Thorpeland and Wallington attended 'Holme Chapel' after Wallington ruined late 16th century. But 'Holme Chapel' collapsed, so they went to 'Runcton'.
E. Rose (NAU).

Press cutting (S1) in file.
E. Rose (NAU).

Much of the architecture of this church dates to the Norman period, including the tower, chancel arch and the south entrance doorway. Later additions include the charming 16th century red brick porch. The building was reroofed and repewed in 1845 and it may have been at this point that it gained the large, handsome 17th century pulpit. Also of note is the 14th century chancel where the roof corbels take the form of male and female heads. 18th century memorials to clerics and parishioners alike can be viewed by visitors to this pleasant church.
T. Sunley (NLA).

Monument Types

  • CHURCH (Medieval to Modern - 1066 AD to 2050 AD)

Associated Finds - none

Protected Status

  • Listed Building

Sources and further reading

---Secondary File: Secondary file.
<S1>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 1992. Runcton Holme Parish Church - picture.. 30 April.

Related records

50903Related to: Cropmarks relating to Runcton Holme medieval settlement (Monument)

Find out more...

Norfolk County Council logo Heritage Lottery Fund logo

Powered by HBSMR-web and the HBSMR Gateway from exeGesIS SDM Ltd, and mojoPortal CMS
© 2007 - 2019 Norfolk Historic Environment Service