|Type of record:||Monument|
|Name:||Site of combined steam corn and drainage mill|
The site of a steam engine house, marked on a 19th century map. Nothing remains today.
Images - none
|Grid Reference:||TG 4262 0691|
|Parish:||HALVERGATE, BROADLAND, NORFOLK|
1884. Draining Pump marked on (S1).
 notes that Engine House Carr takes its name from a steam pump (note on NCM map); presumably this one?
Note however building shown but not named on same map within wood at TG 4260 0648.
E. Rose (NAU), 11 October 1982.
(S2) shows that Engine House Carr did take its name from this pump which was the first steam mill in the area and was unique in that it was a corn mill with a scoop wheel. Milling ceased before 1926 after which it was used for pumping alone. It was demolished in the 1940s or 1950s and only a few bricks remained in the 1960s.
E. Rose (NLA), 31 October 2006.
- STEAM ENGINE HOUSE (Post Medieval to Cold War - 1861 AD? to 1950 AD?)
Associated Finds - none
Protected Status - none
Sources and further reading
|<S1>||Map: Ordnance Survey, First Edition, 6 Inch. 1879-1886. Ordnance Survey 1st Edition 6 inch map.. |
|<S2>||Article in serial: Allard, P.. 2006. Halvergate Steam Pump.. Yarmouth Archaeology. p 32 ff. |
Related records - none
Find out more...