|Type of record:||Building|
|Name:||Britannia Barracks, now part of HM Prison Norwich|
Britannia Barracks was the Headquarters of the Royal Anglian Regiment and the Regimental Museum until recently. These buildings now form part of the Prison, which was built at the back of the old barracks, which were only recently still in use by the Regiment. The buildings were constructed in 1886 and 1887 by an unknown Royal Engineer. Rumour has it that the City, upon granting permission for construction on Mousehold Heath which overlooks the city, asked that they be given a pleasing appearance. As a result, the barrack building is thought to be one of the most architecturally sophisticated 19th century barracks in England. It is an almost unique example of Queen Anne revival style applied to a barracks, and may be the product of Colonel E Bland and Major E Clayton. The attached building, until recently a museum, is in plan a 60-pavillion hospital, but uniquely detailed.
Images - none
|Grid Reference:||TG 2435 0948|
|Parish:||NORWICH, NORWICH, NORFOLK|
Britannia Barracks (HQ Royal Anglian Regiment and Regimental Museum) and HM Prison.
Constructed in three blocks with detached lodge to north-west now demolished. Dated 1886 and 1887. Part now used by prison service. Red brick and tile roofs. Stone detailing. Tall clock tower with rusticated quoins and pediment. Central square tower with cupola to massive four storey range with dormers. Three round headed arches under pediment lead to barrack square. Round tower attached to gatehouse. Detached block to north-west has octagonal two storey tower.
Information from (S1).
Press cutting in file (S2).
Compiled by E. Rose (NLA), 7 June 1995.
Revised listing 1999 gives much longer description and rhapsodises over the building which it calls the most architecturally sophisticated 19th century barracks in England with a unique plan; example of Queen Anne revival style applied to a barracks in the school of Norman Shaw but the architect is an unknown Royal Engineer. The attached building, until recently a museum, is in plan a 60-pavillion hospital, but uniquely detailed.
See listing for details.
Compiled by E. Rose (NLA), 10 March 1999.
(S2) repeats above, though it calls the syle 'incongruous' but states architects were Colonel E Bland and Major E Clayton, builder Kirk and Randall.
E. Rose (NLA), 4 January 1999.
See press cuttings (S3), (S4) and (S5) in file.
T. Sunley (NLA) 30 October 2007.
Proposal to give A-wing listed building status, but not granted
See (S6) and (S7) for further information
H. White (NLA), 15 December 2008.
- BARRACKS (Post Medieval to Modern - 1886 AD to 1995 AD)
- HOSPITAL (Post Medieval to Modern - 1886 AD to 1995 AD)
- PRISON (Post Medieval to Modern - 1886 AD? to 2050 AD)
Associated Finds - none
- Listed Building
- Listed Building
Sources and further reading
|---||Publication: Douet, J.. 1998. British Barracks 1600-1914.. p 174. |
|---||Secondary File: Secondary file. |
|<S1>||Scheduling record: English Heritage. List of Buildings of Historical and Architectural Interest. |
|<S2>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 1995. Eastern Daily Press. 27 May. |
|<S3>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 30 Apr 1994. |
|<S4>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 10 May 2002. |
|<S5>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 9 Jun 1994. |
|<S6>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2008. Victorian Jail Wing Could Get Listed Status. 9 August. |
|<S7>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2008. 'Common Sense' as Prison Fails to be Listed. 27 September. |
|54279||Parent of: World War One practice trench (Monument)|
|54278||Parent of: World War Two air raid shelter (Monument)|
|53079||Related to: HM Prison A- Wing, Knox Road (Building)|
Find out more...