|Type of record:||Building|
|Name:||St Fabian and St Sebastian's Church, Woodbastwick|
The dedication of this church is unique in England. The church has medieval origins (14th century) but was extensively restored in 1878-79, with the flints used in this restoration knapped at Whitlingham. Inside, the church has a tiebeam roof with crown posts and four-way struts, 19th century stained glass and a monument to the Cator family in the north chancel chapel.
|Grid Reference:||TG 3324 1522|
|Parish:||WOODBASTWICK, BROADLAND, NORFOLK|
Flints for restoring plate tracery knapped at Whitlingham 1878 (see file NHER 9662). Donation to steeple 1518.
E. Rose (NAU).
Press cuttings (S1)-(S3) in file.
See (S4) in file.
D. Gurney (NLA) 5 June 2006.
- CHURCH (Medieval to 21st Century - 1066 AD to 2100 AD)
Associated Finds - none
Sources and further reading
|---||Aerial Photograph: TG3315A. |
|---||Record Card: NAU Staff. 1974-1988. Norfolk Archaeological Index Primary Record Card. |
|---||Monograph: Pevsner, N. and Wilson, B. 1997. Norfolk 1: Norwich and North-East. The Buildings of England. 2nd Edition. p 732. |
|---||Leaflet: John Pallister. 1973. St Fabian & St Sebastian Church, Woodbastwick.. |
|---||Secondary File: Secondary File. |
|<S1>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 1975. [Photograph of St Fabian and St Sebastian's Church]. 16 December. |
|<S2>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 1988. Thatchers in protest at low quality reed claim. 30 December. |
|<S3>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2000. Church clock a sign of the chimes. 19 May. |
|<S4>||Publication: Anonymous. St Fabian & St Sebastian, Woodbastwick. |
Related records - none
Find out more...