Record Details

NHER Number:52755
Type of record:Building
Name:Campbell's Factory, Kings Lynn

Summary

The soup factory was opened in 1959 and was the first major Campell's plant to be constructed outside of America. The iconic tower was once the tallest building in King's Lynn. The factory closed in 2007 and was demolished in 2012.

Images - none

Location

Grid Reference:TF 62809 18360
Map Sheet:TF61NW
Parish:KING’S LYNN, WEST NORFOLK, NORFOLK

Full description

The factory opened in 1959, the first major Campbell's factory to be constructed outside America. The iconic red cooling tower was once the tallest building in King's Lynn.

December 2007.
Production at the factory stopped and machinery stripped out.
See (S1) for more information
H. White (NLA), 2 April 2009.

March 2009.
Factory is set to be demolished to make way for a new business park.
See (S2) for further details
H. White (NLA), 2 April 2009.

24 March 2009. Site Visit and documentary research.
The factory was examined and several photographs were taken as part of a desk-based assessment prior to redevelopment. The building is primarily of brick, steel, concrete and corrugated iron construction, with one storey and two storey segments and a large cooling tower in the north-west corner. The structure was primarily used for manufacturing, with warehouse space to the west and offices to the north. At the time of the survey, the interior consisted of largely open spaces supported by concrete pillars. The internal ground floor level had been raised in some places, and a service tunnel ran underneath the factory floor.
See (S12) for further details.
H. Hamilton (HES), 02 January 2013.

August 2011. Historic building recording.
The group of buildings that comprised the Campbell's Soup Factory were recorded ahead of proposals to demolish the structures for a new development. The factory was purpose built for mechanised food production on an industrial scale. The fixtures and fittings associated with the manufacturing processes were removed in 2009 when the factory closed. The factory building largely comprises a series of L-beam and girder built warehouse-type structures organised in a modular build.
See (S3).
S. Howard (HES), 29 September 2011.

15 January 2012. Demolition of the tower.
The iconic cooling tower of the Campbell's soup factory was demolished in preparation for construction of a new business park.
See (S8) for further information.
For additional press articles regarding the proposed demolition of the factory see (S4), (S5), (S6) and (S7).
H. Hamilton (HES), 02 January 2013.

For aerial photographs of the factory see (S9), (S10) and (S11).

Monument Types

  • FOOD PROCESSING PLANT (Cold War to Modern - 1959 AD to 2007 AD)

Associated Finds - none

Protected Status - none

Sources and further reading

---Secondary File: Secondary file.
<S1>Newspaper Article: Lynn News. 2007. Last can off the line at Campbell's.. 20 December.
<S2>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2009. Tower to go in business park plans. 26 March.
<S3>Unpublished document: Capon, L. 2011. Archaeology Group AOC Archaeology Group Report No. 30537. A historic building record of Campbell's Factory, Campbell's Meadow, Hardwick Road, King's Lynn, Norfolk.. September.
<S4>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2009. Store's tower is food for thought. 3 April.
<S5>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2009. Iconic tower should be saved.
<S6>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2011. Landmark set for demolition. 15 November.
<S7>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2012. Tower blast is set for Sunday, 8am. 14 January.
<S8>Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2012. Town loses landmark in just seconds. 16 January.
<S9>Oblique Aerial Photograph: Edwards, D, NLA. 1990. NHER TF6218 C (NLA264/GAP3) 19-JUN-1990.
<S10>Oblique Aerial Photograph: Edwards, D, NLA. 1998. NHER TF6218 N,P (NLA391/ HSY6) 08-MAY-98.
<S11>Oblique Aerial Photograph: Edwards, D, NLA. 1998. NHER TF6218 G-H (NLA393/ HTP9) 24-JUN-1998.
<S12>Unpublished document: Moller, J.. 2009. AOC Archaeology Report No. 30423. Archaeological desk-based assessment for Hardwick Road, King's Lynn, Norfolk..

Related records - none

Norfolk County Council logo Heritage Lottery Fund logo

Powered by HBSMR-web and the HBSMR Gateway from exeGesIS SDM Ltd, and mojoPortal CMS
© 2007 - 2019 Norfolk Historic Environment Service