Sprowston, Sprowston Hall - Sprowston Heritage Embroideries Group

Panel 3 of the Sprowston Heritage Embroideries Group embroidery.

Panel Three of Threads of Time. (© Sprowston Heritage Embroideries Group.)

These images are taken from Threads of Time, a community tapestry comprised of four panels created by Sprowston residents depicting the history of the area.


This era opens with the May, a thorny hedging tree, and ends with the newly introduced parkland larch. The spelling is taken from the chalice, which has both Sprvstone and Sprowsone! There seems more prosperity, though still few people. Common land gets nibbled away. Overworn tracks like North Walsham Road have to be improved at the cost of travellers with animals and carts. Brick is more frequent, and wind power is better used; as the century advances steam would be harnessed. In 1839 Independents have a chapel and school. No more weavers are recorded here after the 1820s - the north captures the trade with new machines. Science has arrived!


This is the tomb of Thomas Corbet d.1617, with his wife Ann. They improved Sprowston Hall. Descended from the Normans, their name means 'crow' (corbeau). One of a line of Corbets in Sprowston, he became Sheriff of Norfolk and built Sprowston Manor. Deep inside it are scratched the initials T.C. 

Detail of panel 3 of the Sprowston Heritage Embroideries Group embroidery.

Detail of Panel Three of Threads of Time depicting the tomb of the Corbets of Sprowston Hall. (© Sprowston Heritage Embroideries Group.) 

The tapestry also features a Bronze Age cemetery, St Mary and St Margaret's Church, Sprowston Mill, the legend of White Woman LaneSt Cuthbert's Church and Mousehold Heath aerodrome.

For more details of this project or to purchase Threads Of Time a booklet that accompanies the tapestry please contact:


Sprowston Hall (now called Sprowston Manor Hotel), Sprowston - NHER 8159

Norfolk County Council logo Heritage Lottery Fund logo

Powered by HBSMR-web and the HBSMR Gateway from exeGesIS SDM Ltd, and mojoPortal CMS
© 2007 - 2024 Norfolk Historic Environment Service