|Type of record:||Building|
|Name:||Former St Helen's Church, Silfield|
Built in 1912-3 by Lacey and Upcher, this church was closed in 1969 and later converted into a house.
Images - none
|Grid Reference:||TM 12465 99481|
|Parish:||WYMONDHAM, SOUTH NORFOLK, NORFOLK|
May 2007. Field Observation.
Built in 1912-13 by Lacey and Upcher. Closed in 1969 when it was superceded by new building on the Silfield council estate, and converted into a house (despite still being marked as a Hall on the GIS in 2007). Stained glass by Ninian Comper was put into store. A unique bell of 1915 by G. Day and Co. of Eye was given to Spooner Row Church (S1). The building is typical of its period - flint and/or render with brick dressing, brick slit in the west gable. It is interesting to note that (S2) and (S3) show the site of the church and the adjacent Church cottages as being in the grounds of a large house to the north, now gone.
E. Rose (NLA), 4 May 2007.
- CHURCH (Early 20th Century to Late 20th Century - 1912 AD to 1969 AD)
- HOUSE (Late 20th Century to 21st Century - 1969 AD to 2100 AD)
Associated Finds - none
Protected Status - none
Sources and further reading
|<S1>||Publication: Cattermole, P. 2007. Wymondham Abbey. |
|<S2>||Map: 1840. Tithe Award Map. |
|<S3>||Map: Ordnance Survey. 1885-1891. Ordnance Survey Map. Six inches to the mile. First Edition. 1:10,560. |
Related records - none