Record Details

NHER Number:18415
Type of record:Monument
Name:Site of combined steam corn and drainage mill


The site of a steam engine house, marked on a 19th century map. Nothing remains today.

Images - none


Grid Reference:TG 4262 0691
Map Sheet:TG40NW

Full description

1884. Draining Pump marked on (S1).

[1] notes that Engine House Carr takes its name from a steam pump (note on NCM map); presumably this one?

Note however building shown but not named on same map within wood at TG 4260 0648.
E. Rose (NAU), 11 October 1982.

(S2) shows that Engine House Carr did take its name from this pump which was the first steam mill in the area and was unique in that it was a corn mill with a scoop wheel. Milling ceased before 1926 after which it was used for pumping alone. It was demolished in the 1940s or 1950s and only a few bricks remained in the 1960s.
E. Rose (NLA), 31 October 2006.

Monument Types

  • STEAM ENGINE HOUSE (19th Century to Mid 20th Century - 1861 AD? to 1950 AD?)

Associated Finds - none

Protected Status - none

Sources and further reading

---Record Card: NAU Staff. 1974-1988. Norfolk Archaeological Index Primary Record Card.
<S1>Map: Ordnance Survey, First Edition, 6 Inch. 1879-1886. Ordnance Survey 1st Edition 6 inch map..
<S2>Article in Serial: Allard, P.. 2006. Halvergate Steam Pump.. Yarmouth Archaeology. p 32 ff.

Related records - none

Find out more...

Norfolk County Council logo Heritage Lottery Fund logo

Powered by HBSMR-web and the HBSMR Gateway from exeGesIS SDM Ltd, and mojoPortal CMS
© 2007 - 2024 Norfolk Historic Environment Service