|Type of record:||Monument|
|Name:||Wymondham Market Cross|
The Market Cross is a timber-framed structure erected in 1617-1618 following the destruction of its predecessor in 1615. The building itself consists of an octagonal building supported over an open ground floor by eight timber buttress-like posts and a middle post. The is a little carved decoration on the upper floor, which is reached by an outer stair from the back, and the building is crowned by a pyramidal roof. The building now houses the Tourist Information Centre.
|Grid Reference:||TG 1106 0147|
|Parish:||WYMONDHAM, SOUTH NORFOLK, NORFOLK|
Built around 1617 on site of medieval cross.
Detailed description in file (S1).
Compiled by E. Rose (NLA) 25 June 1990.
The Market Cross suffered minor fire damage after a spate of vandalism,
See (S2) for further details,
H. White, (NLA), 29 April 2010
- CROSS (Medieval to Post Medieval - 1066 AD? to 1615 AD?)
- BUILDING (Post Medieval to Modern - 1617 AD to 2050 AD)
- MARKET CROSS (Post Medieval to Modern - 1617 AD to 2050 AD)
Associated Finds - none
- Listed Building
- Scheduled Monument
Sources and further reading
|---||Aerial Photograph: Edwards, D.A. (NLA). 1996. TG 1101W - Z. |
|---||Publication: Mossby and Agar. 1949. Wymondham Old and New. |
|---||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2010. Arsonists in bid to burn iconic cross. 29 April. |
|---||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 2010. Heaps of history and a market too. 2 February. |
|---||Secondary File: Secondary file. |
|---||Photograph: BPF18. |
|---||Archive: Clarke, R. R. and NCM Staff. 1933-1973. Norwich Castle Museum Record Card - Post-Medieval. Wymondham. |
|<S1>||Unpublished document: Rose, E.. 1990. Building Report. |
Related records - none
Find out more...