|Type of record:||Building|
|Name:||St Andrew's church, Frenze, Scole|
Frenze village is almost deserted; the remains are this church, Frenze Hall (NHER 45743), a small scattering of farmbuildings and the occasional house. It comes as no surprise then that St Andrews may be the smallest church in the whole of Norfolk! The present building dates to the 13th and 14th centuries, but this may be just the nave of a previously larger village church, as it has undoubtedly suffered truncations on at least one or two occasions. It may have continued futher to both the east and west, and even have had a west tower, although if so this was removed as early as the late 15th century. St Andrews was closed in 1976 due to a lack of attendees, and has since passed into the hands of the Churches Conservation Trust. Inside, much of the floor area is filled with tomb slabs and brasses, and the church contains no less than six effigy brasses, most of which depict the Blenerhaysett family who owned the manor here. The octagonal font, despite appearing plain, is actually fascinating as each of the eight faces of the bowl is carved with a different type of tracery, all of them current to the first half of the 14th century. There is also a very fine early 17th century pulpit and family pew, and a lovely medieval bench-end carved with a monkey. A touchingly unfussy church, of particular interest for the surprising quantity of its brasses.
Images - none
|Grid Reference:||TM 1354 8042|
|Parish:||SCOLE, SOUTH NORFOLK, NORFOLK|
This village is in Domesday, Nomina Villarum, seven taxpayers in 1329, eight in 1332, ten in 1428, no relief 1449, six houses 1805. No institutions in church 1484-1597.
(S1) says formerly had two collars to every pair of rafters - present roof modern. (S2)'s drawing, early 18th century, shows west turret, south porch with ?round-headed entrance, then eastwards a Dec window, ?or cusped Y, lancet then cusped? Y-tracery window. Yet in text he says Frenze has a square steeple! and draws a lozenge window. A 'stump cross' by corner of chancel. 'Tis kept in a most slovenly manner'. In large volumes he notes: no chancel arch, but a rood beam. Piscina in north window sill. Altar stone with five crosses set in floor near a brass - very many of these. Piscina and sedilia.
Newspaper cutting (S3) and architects' drawings (1996) in file.
E. Rose (NAU).
Appropriate section of ref (S4) in file.
- CHURCH (Medieval to Modern - 1066 AD to 2050 AD)
- CROSS (Medieval - 1066 AD to 1539 AD)
- DESERTED SETTLEMENT (Medieval - 1066 AD to 1539 AD)
- BRASS (Medieval to Modern - 1475 AD to 2050 AD)
- TOMBSTONE (Medieval to Modern - 1500 AD to 2050 AD)
- BELL (Post Medieval to Modern - 1707 AD to 2050 AD)
Sources and further reading
|---||Serial: Pevsner, N. & Wilson, B.. 1989. The Buildings of England. Norfolk 2: North-West and South.. |
|---||Article in serial: Helen M. Spiers. Plain exterior savid it in Cromwell's days.. |
|---||Secondary File: Secondary file. |
|<S1>||Publication: Cautley, H. M. 1949. Norfolk Churches. |
|<S2>||Unpublished document: Martin, T.. c.1740. Church Notes. |
|<S3>||Newspaper Article: Eastern Daily Press. 1979. New life for tiny 'gem' of a church. 13 December. |
|<S4>||Publication: Batcock, N. 1991. The Ruined and Disused Churches of Norfolk. East Anglian Archaeology, 51. Microfiche 5:G12. |
Related records - none
Find out more...